American photographer Richard Avedon was best known for his work in the fashion world and for his minimalist portraits. He worked first as a photographer for the Merchant Marines, taking identification photos. He then moved to fashion, shooting for Harper’s Bazaar and Vogue, demanding that his models convey emotion and movement, a departure from the norm of motionless fashion photography.

One of the greatest photographers of the 20th century, Richard Avedon expanded the genre of photography with his surreal and provocative fashion photography as well as portraits that bared the souls of some of the most important and opaque figures in the world.

Unknown

http://www.biography.com/people/richard-avedon-9193034

I feel Richards Avedons portraits inspire an element of surrealism whilst capturing individuality and mirroring the oddity of the human psyche.

Walter-Jackson-520x650

Richard_Avedon_In_the-_american_west

richard_avedon_12

avedon-john-ford-1972

As you can see all his images are black and white which I feel helps to provoke emotion. Avedon has a great way of making his subjects seem isolated within their frames. Often focusing on facial expressions that to me hold connotations to sadness, worry an doubt. His subjects our often strange looking characters, portrayed as misfits, people used as vessels to portray they emotions Avedon is choosing to display.

“Sometimes I think all my pictures are just pictures of me. My concern is… the human predicament; only what I consider the human predicament may simply be my own.”

Richard Avendon.

When Richard Avedon moved into the world of fashion shooting for Harper’s Bazaar and Vouge, He demanded that his models convey emotion and movement. Altering from the norm of the motionless and neutral styles that were dominant in the industry at the time.

normal_0c1885dfc69ce808a84c12bae7f4b6de

richard-avedon-fashion13

tumblr_lampnzHFcz1qa2nzso1_1280

 

To me these images are a lot more visually appealing than normal fashion photography. The movement creates a flow across the frame that instantly captures the eye. I feel this last image holds connotations to how crazy people can get over fashion. It makes me think of two women fighting over a sort after item of clothing in a sale and portrays an animalistic nature.

