After being shown the you tube videos covering the topics we were asked to base are final photo shoots around, I looked at various photographers that have done work that I feel also covers these ideas.

The Dark Issue

http://www.shortoftheweek.com/2013/08/14/its-not-you-its-me-2/

The emotional Issue

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wPIwRWxvabM

The Waste Issue

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wPIwRWxvabM

Iv chosen to focus my shoot around Ideas brought to life by both the Dark and Emotional issues. These films to me provoked the thought of isolation and both contained an element of violence. I want to apply similar ideas to my photo shoot. After previously looking at portraits by Richard Avedon that I felt sparked strong feelings of isolation and abandonment, I looked at other photographers that have represented similar emotions through their work.

These images were taken by Lee Jeffries. Who took a collection of black and white portraits of people living on the streets of Europe and the U.S.

4

5

portraits-of-the-homeless-lee-jeffries-5

As you can see these images all have a strong emotional presence, I feel the emotion represented in these shots reflects societies abandonment of these individuals.

These Images were taken by London photographer Roman Sakovich. They are taken from a series of portraits entitled “Half” taken to represent the before and after effect of drug abuse. I like the narrative created through these photgraphs as well as the juxstaposition between the before and after sides of each image.

0000bffc_medium Portraits before and after drug abuse2Portraits before and after drug abuse6 Roman-Sakovich-half-hype3

These images were taken by Photographer Andy Armstrong in order to portray the emotional distress and physical pain of domestic violence.

eftgykzs

There is an extremely strong portrayal of emotional distress in these images, Making them almost hard to view. This is something I would like to reflect in my photo shoot. As I would like to challenge the viewer and really try to make them feel what my images are trying to portray.

The following photographs were taken by freelance photographer and Graphic artist Logan Gelik. These images again reflect a great deal of emotion. I like the idea of using black and white images as i think it enhances the mood of the photograph.

Screen Shot 2013-11-29 at 11.45.07

Screen Shot 2013-11-29 at 11.45.14

Screen Shot 2013-11-29 at 11.45.19

I plan to recreate similar signifiers to the ones that can be found in the images I have looked at, in my own photographs. For example running make up around the eyes to signify sadness and bruises to signify an element of violence.

